Skip to main content

To: NY State Assembly and Elite World Group

Support Carré Otis and Survivors in Creating a Safer Modeling Industry

Sexual assault and misconduct are rampant in the modeling industry. Carré Otis’s recent lawsuit against her abuser, Gérald Marie, highlights a decades’ long system of traffic that demands justice.

Show your support for Carré by signing the Model Alliance’s petition NOW to help time-barred survivors access justice and put protections in place to create a safer industry for all.

First, New York lawmakers must pass the Adult Survivors Act to let survivors who were 18 or older at the time of their abuse and are now outside the statute of limitations come forward to seek justice through the civil courts.

Second, we demand that agencies, brands, fashion powerhouses like Elite World Group and others sign onto the Model Alliance’s one-of-a-kind RESPECT Program to commit to workers’ rights and an environment free of abuse. The RESPECT Program is the only existing accountability program designed by and for models. Under RESPECT, signatory companies make a legally binding, enforceable commitment to require their employees and contractors to follow a code of conduct that protects everyone’s safety on the job.

Why is this important?

The industry that allowed and enabled serial abusers like Marie is still the same industry: One that lacks regulation, escapes accountability, and normalizes trafficking -- all off the backs of young women and men. It’s time to ensure that everyone in this industry can work in a safe environment, free from harm, with access to justice.

Model Alliance
Akasha Hendrix
Alessandra Biaggi, New York State Senator
Alex Shanklin
Alexander Kjellevik
Alexandra Waterbury
Alyssa Sutherland
Amanda Rodriguez
Amber Valletta
Ambra Battilana Gutierez
Amy Dorris-Hulth
Athena Currey
Ava Smith
Ayesha Barenblat, Remake
Barrett Pall
Beverly Johnson
Bradley James Falconer
Braeden Wright
Brana Dane
Caitlin Dulany
Carre Otis
Carrie Ann Moss
Chandra North
Chloe Hayward
Cindi Leive
David Stewart
Dexter Rangel
EJ Moran
Elizabeth Cline
Elle Dawson
Elliott Sailors
Emily Mott
Erin Heatherton
Erin Pasquet
Evelyn Yang
Greg Asbed, Co-Founder, Coalition of Immokalee Workers
Gwen Van Meir
Hannelore Knuts
Heidi Mount
Ian Bohen
Ingrid Schram
Iskra Lawrence
Ivan Lizarde
Jason Boyce
Jason Hofmann
Jennifer Hoffman
Jill Dodd
Julia Schwadron Marianelli
Kai Braden
Kara Young
Karen Alexander
Karen Elson
Kenny Sale
Laurie Marsden
Lesa Amoore
Lisa Kauffmann
Lynn Mabry
Madeline Hill
Madisyn Ritland
Mariel Hemingway
Mary Greenwell
Matthew Charles Sutton
Maurice Smith
Meera Fox
Meisha Brooks
Meredith Hattam
Michael Hager
Michael Williams
Milla Jovovich
Mira Sorvino
Nadine Strittmatter
Nova Hagel
Pania Rose
Paulina Porizkova
Prema Kerollis
Rachel Price
Sara Ziff
Sarah Hay
Sarah Newell, Director of Outreach and Communications, WSR Network
Sarah Spinner, PsyD
Shaina Danziger
Shari Plummer
Shawna Lee
Shelly Zander
Susan Holmes McKagan
Susanna Mahoney
Sydney Giordano
Tatjana Patitz
Theresa Haas, Director of Transnational Strategies, WSR Network
Yuh-Line Niou, New York State Assemblymember
Zoe Ghertner



2021-09-14 15:26:42 -0400

500 signatures reached

2021-09-08 13:23:32 -0400

100 signatures reached

2021-09-08 12:09:28 -0400

50 signatures reached

2021-09-08 11:44:10 -0400

25 signatures reached

2021-09-08 11:35:10 -0400

10 signatures reached